Picture Book Blog

Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to My Daughters

“Of Thee I Sing”, is a very well written picture book by President Barack Obama.  It is illustrated by award winning illustrator Loren Long.  This book is intended for age’s four to eight.  In the book Barack Obama addresses thirteen groundbreaking Americans that have changed our nation for the better.  President Obama believes the qualities of these thirteen legendary Americans are common between his daughters and America’s children.  One passage I liked was about the courage Jackie Robinson displayed becoming the first African American Major League Baseball player.  This book was written before President Obama took office and just recently published.  No matter what your political preference is, this book is worth your time to read.  “Of Thee I Sing”, would be great to read in class to your students.  It will introduce thirteen wonderful Americans to your students.  After reading this book your students could begin a project to pick their own thirteen legendary Americans and why they chose them.

Bibliographic Information:

Obama, Barack. “Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to my Daughters”. Illus. Loren Long. Knopf Books for Young Readers. New York, NY. 2010.

Book cover taken from:

http://www.csmonitor.com/Books/chapter-and-verse/2010/1116/Obama-s-Of-Thee-I-Sing-hits-bookstore-shelves

About awgerste

I am 24 and currently attending college to pursue a teaching degree.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment